Summer Meisner Intensive Talk with Sara Kohler – Maggie Flanigan Studio – Telephone 917 789 1599

Summer Meisner Intensive Talk with Sara Kohler - Maggie Flanigan Studio - Telephone 917 789 1599During this interview with Katie, Sara Kohler talks about the Meisner Summer Intensive at the Maggie Flanigan Studio.

The Meisner Intensive supplies pupils with the ability to experience what it means to train as an expert performer. In this interview, Sara talks about her experience in the six-week summer intensive and how it was different than what she formerly thought the professional training was like.

Q: What did you think acting training was the Six Week Summer Intensive, before you began?

A: I though that acting training was a lot of what I did in school. I didnt think it was essential for me personally. I didnt know what training so coming here and actually meant, and learning the beginning of the Meisner technique, I started to appreciate that training was nothing that I believed it was. Its only a fresh way of working that I’d never even thought of and I was wanting to step into these characters in my personal scene study classes that I had no idea how you can step into. I had no technique and I didnt understand what I was doing. Coming here Ive started to know just how to work and I learned.

Q: What occurred during the Meisner Summer Intensive that altered your outlook on training?

A: Well, I had been just starting to learn what training actually meant, first of all and I learned that clearly I didnt understand what I had been doing and what really changed for me was that I recognized that I wasnt listening in scenes and I wasnt really taking in and it wasnt just about what had been said to me it was about the way that it had been said to me and Id never thought of that before for some reason. I was merely constantly waiting for my cue and saying a line the manner that I believed Id done homework on and that it had been rehearsed by me and actually I didnt even know the way to do assignments, which is insane. Just thinking back to the summer, how far Ive come is astonishing and it really, truly changed my entire life.

Q:

A: I was surprised to think back on those roles that Ive played and realized that I ‘d no clue what I was doing. I didnt have training, I didnt have a technique, I didnt know how to even prepare for a function and with the Meisner technique you actually start to understand what its like to craft and develop a character plus a circumstance and live through something. I had been just shocked and its almost laughable to think about what exactly that I did before this. Its hard for me to think that I have been seen by individuals and its embarrassing to be somewhat frank.

Interview and this blog post with Sara first appeared on the studio website: http://www.maggieflaniganstudio.com/summer-intensive-program/

Leave a Reply

